Three Powerful Words

Having spent a lot of time with my two year old daughter over the past few days, I have come to realize that I am so very lucky. She is bright, inquisitive, silly and loving. Yes, I am going to brag about that and no I am not going to feel bad about it.

It is not just to brag about my daughter that I am writing this post. I am writing it because she has something, something kids and many other people lose along the way. Two year olds develop their language at different speeds. My daughter says many things, but most of her sentences and phrases are still a little hard to hear, but one that stands out very clear is possibly my favorite: “I did it!” She says the phrase with such joy and excitement at even seemingly small accomplishments. She celebrates her successes. She is excited about learning to do something or simply completing a task. She shouts out “I did it!” and holds up a hand for a high five.

Why don’t we celebrate our own successes with this passion? Imagine how great we would all feel if we took the time to celebrate each small success on the road to greater accomplishments. Imagine what kind of change it would make in your school’s culture, or your workplace. Instead of moving on to the “next thing” stop for a moment and celebrate, get a high-five, hold your arms up high, do something to acknowledge your own success, and see how much easier the “next thing” becomes!

Leave a Reply

