Teacher Leaders at #EdCampLdr

There were so many great people at EdCamp Leadership today.  I have much to unpack and write about to reflect on my incredible experience.  I am not going to be able to write about all of this tonight, but I will say that there were many great teacher leaders, who, without hesitation stepped up and joined or led conversations to make the day a success.

The most shocking and saddening thing about today was the very first part of the day.  The opening speech by Joe Mazza (who did an amazing job organizing the event) was that there was not ONE educator in their first 5 years of service.  It was both saddening and concerning.

We need more young teachers to jump onboard and be a part of this incredible learning opportunity.  If you want to learn and become a better teacher and leader, you need to take chances and find these great events.  I must admit I did not attend any events like this during my first five years.

I suppose that leaves it up to us to make it happen.  We as the leaders need to spread the great learning of these days to newer teachers.  So, sign up for an EdCamp near you!

http://www.edcamp.org

2 thoughts on “Teacher Leaders at #EdCampLdr

  1. I couldn’t agree more! I think we need to get to the college/university teacher prep programs. Need classes on becoming a Connected Educator for teacher prep programs and professors as well. I begin a program this fall and am going to make it part of my mission in helping to change education. Thanks for posting!

    • Heidi,
      Thanks for the comment, I was thinking the same thing while writing this. Maybe an EdCampPreT ? Also be sure to check out the Teachergarten poscast coming in September!

Leave a Reply

