#SlowChatEd Day 6

Now we come to the last question of the week.  I could probably run a philosophically focussed ed chat like this for months! But, my week with slowchated is coming to a close.  I thank you for playing along with my philosophical whims, for so many of you reading these posts, and for some incredible answers.  Yesterday we talked about creating new experiences for students.  I am very passionate about this idea.  How we create new experiences for kids and expose them to cultures and ideas that may be beyond their reach, will ultimately do great things for kids.

With this being the final day, I think it is appropriate to visit a philosopher I was not expecting to like as a college student, but through spending time learning about his work, I became impressed: St. Augustine.  Here are some of my favorite highlights from St. Augustine:

“Since love grows within you, so beauty grows. For love is the beauty of the soul.”

“Since you cannot do good to all, you are to pay special attention to those who, by the accidents of time, or place, or circumstances, are brought into closer connection with you.”

“This is the very perfection of a man, to find out his own imperfections.”

I chose St. Augustine because the last thing a good teacher should do is reflect.  Here is one of my favorite quotes on reflection:

“People travel to wonder at the height of mountains, at the huge waves of the sea, at the long courses of rivers, at the vast compass of the ocean, at the circular motion of the stars; and they pass by themselves without wondering.”

Q6 Reflect on your past year in ed, share 1 Love, 1 Ooops, 1 New thing for next year #slowchated

Leave a Reply

