#SlowChatEd Day 5

I loved today’s answers about bringing joy and hope to kids.  Every one of you should be proud of that work.  We can truly do no greater good than to nurture that joy and hope in others.  I try to do this in my room by opening the world up for some of our smallest learners, by making them see all the things they CAN do instead of what they cannot do, and by instilling in them a sense of pride and passion for what they create.  Today was filled with great answers!  THANKS!

As promised I am going to discuss a philosopher that I frequently disagreed with, though I learned a lot from during my undergraduate work.  Immanuel Kant (CONT) was an incredibly influential philosopher and wrote across every philosophical discipline.  One of Kant’s most spectacular pieces of work was in saying that we cannot truly know anything about which there is not some scientific, mathematic measure to give us an exact understanding.  Essentially, when it comes to language and knowledge, we don’t know much!

Here are a few Kant quotes to set the mood:

“All the interests of my reason, speculative as well as practical, combine in the three following questions: 1. What can I know? 2. What ought I to do? 3. What may I hope?”

“Look closely. The beautiful may be small.”

“From such crooked wood as that which man is made of, nothing straight can be fashioned.”

“It is beyond a doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience.”

This last Quote leads me to Q5 What can we do to increase kids experiences with life, knowledge, and culture #slowchated

Leave a Reply

