#Slowchated Philosophy Day 2

Today was interesting. I was expecting to see a wider range in answers. I am most surprised because I think I hear so many teachers using buzz words and jargon that was the flavor of the week when they were in school, that I can usually tell when they were in school!

While it is refreshing to see many teachers that have kept at least some part of their own philosophy based in their love for students, I think it is important that we revisit how we feel about our role as an educator, and perhaps write it down to reflect. Most of us never really think about it!

So I promised some philosophy and here it goes:
Friedrich Nietzsche is one of my favorite philosophers. Some of his ideas have shaped my view on language, metaphysics, and other serious philosophical debates. Here is a quote from Nietzsche that sums up my views on most education philosophy:

“All things are subject to interpretation whichever interpretation prevails at a given time is a function of power and not truth.”

Now, to bring some philosophy beyond education into this…

“He who has a why to live can bear almost any how.” Nietzsche

Q2: What makes a life “good” to you and how is that reflected in how you teach?

Leave a Reply

