Fighting Summer Slide 73:365×2

For as long as I can remember, even when I was in school, schools have been trying to determine how to fight the summer slide. It is a problem that gives teachers nightmares, and schools consistently fight.

While some have suggested a year-round calendar, I live in a place where summer tourism is one of the largest economic contributors. It will simply never happen here because to do so would cripple the state economically.

So what will work? How do we fight summer slide? Or, is it simply a part of our job to enhance student’s learning when they come back? What do we do?
I am interested in any suggestions that have worked for others. I will share my ideas in my next post tomorrow night.

I hope for many suggestions! This is and continues to be a huge concern (especially during this time of year.)

Leave a Reply

