Dance Break 34:365×2

20140522-213336.jpg

Today started all wrong.  I was scrambling on two fronts to avert students from crisis.  Eventually, those efforts were unsuccessful.  I had two students in full meltdowns at the same time.  I was a bit worried.  Then the idea came to me… Dance Break!

Knowing the two kids who were having issues at the time, dancing was something they really enjoyed.  I plugged my phone into the speakers and played Pharrell’s “Happy” about as loud as I could stand and then said, “DANCE BREAK!”

We all had a blast and it totally redirected the day.  Both students were dancing within the first two minutes along with the rest of the class.  I cannot say that the rest of the day was perfect, but it was crisis free! Sometimes, in life, you just need to take a break and Dance!

Leave a Reply

